top of page

Never Too Late - A Testimonial

Updated: May 2, 2019

There's no expiration date on the ability to start something new.


My first drumkit, bought for me by my best friend who believes that I can do anything.

Many of you who know me, know that I do so many things it's hard to keep track. I tap dance; I perform and teach many other styles of dance. I sing, write, play guitar, workout, teach math, and do so many other things I barely have time in the day for. But I also never stop coming up with new things to try and new goals to achieve.


"I am rhythm, and there's nothing that can stop me from making my own brand of noise."

Growing up, I played several different instruments, mainly the viola. I even majored in music with viola as my main instrument at Florida State University. But something always intrigued me about the drums. Maybe because I really was a drummer all along. I just used metal on my feet to make rhythm instead of sticks in my hands. I remember I used to watch the FSU big 8 drumline practice on the Music School lawn anytime I could. Every time I watch live bands play, my eyes fixate on the drummer. I was obsessed with Stomp, the Off-Broadway show about rhythm itself. Even when I choreographed dances, I tried to incorporate drumming and body percussion into my dances anytime I could.


So why did I never think to try to learn how to play drums? I can blame it on not having any time; I mean I am the busiest girl I know. I can blame it on not having anywhere to keep a drum kit or play it without getting my neighbors angry. I can think of a thousand reasons why I didn't, couldn't and/or shouldn't. But at some point it was time for me to find a reason that I finally tried it.


There are a million reasons we give ourselves for why we can't do the things we want to do. Here are some of the things I told myself when I thought about trying to learn the drums:

-I can't add one more thing to my plate

-There's not enough time in my schedule to practice another instrument

-I'm a dancer now; I used to be a musician

-I'm too old to be taken seriously as a beginner

-It won't amount to anything big so why bother

-I can't afford a kit

Do any of these sound familiar to you? Maybe you've said similar things to yourself about stuff you want to try or goals you want to accomplish? I know every time I think about starting something new, like this Blog for instance, I go through a huge list like this and have to debunk each and every excuse I give myself. So here is what I came back with:


-You're right, Jenne, you really can't add one more thing to your plate. But you could take away something that doesn't make you happy and replace it with something you've always wanted to try. And if it doesn't make you happy you can always drop it and have more time for naps with your cats.


-You're correct, there's not enough time in your schedule to practice the same way you practice dance. But you know you have five to ten minutes a day where you can sit and bang on some drums. Even if it's just 5-10 minutes a week or every once in a while, it's worth trying! Slow progress is still progress!


-You only "used to be a musician" because you haven't found an instrument you love as much as you love dancing. Maybe this is the one that can bring you back to music, which you know is one of your biggest passions?


-First of all, "age ain't nothin but a word." Second of all, who cares who takes you seriously over your age? Just play drums because you love it, and the rest of the world will see you as you are. Just like when you tap, people won't see your age when you drum. They'll simply see a drummer who loves what she does.


-Does everything have to amount to perfection and success for you to pursue it? No! despite what you may think, Jenne, there are some things you can do just for fun. Hobbies, I think they're called. There's nothing wrong with doing something for fun. Not everything has to tie to your career and become a big thing. Just enjoy it!


-Yes drum kits are expensive, but maybe there's a way to get one for cheap. Does it have to be the best kit you can buy? Saving up a few dollars here and there will add up and you can get this thing you've always wanted. It's worth looking into at least.


This list of tough love I gave myself is what helped me get over whatever fears and inhibitions I had about become a noob drummer. One day I just decided that I was going to do it when I found a kit. And then one day, my best friend and I found a V-kit for only $125. It needed some TLC but it would work for learning.


When I first got the kit, I sat at it trying to learn from YouTube videos and sheet music every day for a while. I'd go until I got frustrated or until I had to leave for work. I'd always come back to it later or the next time I had time. I noticed that I was getting better over time, but sometimes I wanted to progress faster than I was.


That's the thing about becoming a noob at something when you're already an expert at other things. It's so hard and so humbling to go back to basics and be a beginner. But it also taught me how to empathize more with my beginner students, now that I put myself in their shoes. Every time I would tell my beginners to celebrate their progress and not try to rush things, I was making a note of that for myself too. It's important to remember that it's okay to suck at something when you first try it, because you'll only keep getting better from there.





Fast forward to now, 9 months after I brought home my first V-kit. I am playing with a band that understands my ability level and that I will continue to grow in this craft as I play. Playing with other live musicians changes the game entirely, and it is so rewarding and passion fueling. I am loving every minute I spend playing the drums, and I am so grateful to myself for trying it and to the people in my life who supported this crazy idea.


So what about you? What are you dreaming of? What have you always wanted to try? What do you want to be next in this life?


Make a list like I did and then tear it apart when you've debunked every single item. Play that instrument. Become a dancer. Write that novel. Get yourself fit and healthy. Make a new friend. Find a connection with someone. Get a puppy. Whatever it is that you want, it's never too late to go for it. I hope to always be a living testimonial of that.


22 views0 comments
bottom of page