top of page

#Firstworldproblems got me #thirdworldlivin

I have two cars. I am a 35 year old girl working several part time jobs trying to make ends meet, and it's honestly so hard sometimes because I have two cars. Two brand new, high-monthly-payment cars. I have a 2016 Volkswagen Jetta that I call Steve (named after Captain America, because he;s superhero blue and well, why not). I also have a 2016 Dodge Grand Caravan that I affectionately call the Doge 2.0, and this is the main source of transportation for Noise Complaint, my professional tap dance company. I have these two cars. The payments are murdering my bank account. And it's just honestly such a silly thing for one 35 year old girl to have two brand new cars, am I right?

Perhaps your first question, then, is why do I have two cars? Maybe it also includes the question of how did I end up with two cars? Well that answer is simple. I made bad choices. I was living in a dual income situation, and even though I already owned a brand new Jetta, I thought that my dance company could really use it's own 7-seater van with lots of storage for when we go on tour. It's honestly really convenient to have. But right after I bought it, my double income situation turned into a single income struggle, and what they don't remind you of when you buy a new car is that there's no returning the car just because your income changed. Well crap.

So I have two cars. Yesterday when I was complaining about how it's so inconvenient when I accidentally leave my dance bag in one of my cars but I take the other one to the studio, thus leaving all of my dance shoes at home, I was like, "Man, this really sounds like #firstworldproblems." But then I thought how this #firstworldproblem is making me struggle every day to make ends meet, which is how the title of this blog post popped into my head.


We all have financial struggles, and the most important lessons we learn growing up is how to handle our lives when things get tough. Financially, speaking, tough times can be devastating if you don't know how to handle them. While I admit it's hard, I do successfully make paying off two cars, students loans and general living expenses work with just having part time jobs. And I want to share some tips and tricks with you all about how to make it through these tough money moments and come out alive.

Financial Calendar Keeping

Buying a car or making any kind of major purchase usually comes with payments that span several years, so they are certainly long-term commitments. Looking at it monthly, it may seem like you can afford what you're buying, but finances tend to ebb and flow throughout the year for everyone. While it may be easy to spend in March, you might struggle in June. It's important to look at your money movement annually. Compare months and compare it across years if possible to see what months you tend to struggle and what months you tend to have excess.


My rough months tend to be January and July. As a school teacher and dance teacher, I only get paid regular salary for 10 out of 12 months of the year. Over winter break and other holidays, I don't get paid at all. Over summer, my classes are typically reduced at my dance studios. If I'm lucky I can teach summer school for the county, but if that doesn't happen, I have to find some part time job for the summer just to make sure I can pay my bills. It's a struggle, but what has greatly helped me over the years is knowing that these two months are a struggle for me before they come. I can save up in the months before so I have a bit of a cushion when these tough times arrive. I can also pay bills in advance while I have the money throughout the year so I can take these months off from some of my payments. I do this with my two cars, actually.


Looking at your financial year is critical to understanding and working with your unique financial situation. There are always months when people take more time off than others. You have to prepare for that in advance so that time doesn't make you struggle more than you have to.


Waging worth

We know that I made a financial commitment that is tough for me to handle. What we also know is that this is a real commitment, and there is no getting out of it. I have accepted that these payments are going to be a struggle, and as such I have to make sacrifices in other areas of my life. Before buying anything or making any other financial commitment, I heavily weigh the worth of what I am considering spending my money on. New clothes, dinners out, vacation options, and more are all carefully considered before any final purchase is made. This way, I know that when I spend money, I don't overspend, and I fully appreciate everything I spend money on. This has honestly taught me so much about how to manage my money going forward. When I go out to eat, I typically use coupons or discount codes to save as much as I can, especially since food is not a long-term investment. When shopping for clothes, I have learned that I can get great stuff for lower prices by finding the right stores and using discounts. I plan vacations with the idea of maximizing fun while also not blowing my budget when I don't have to. Whether you struggle or not, you should always think about what you're spending money on before you spend it. When you don't, you might make choices that can affect you more negatively than you realize. How do you think I ended up with two cars?

Coupons and Discounts

There will be a whole slew of posts about this topic, as I am known far and wide for never paying full price for anything. But for now I'll briefly touch this. Couponing isn't what it used to be. I don't have a huge coupon book in my bag, and I don't spend hours sifting through newspapers and clipping out little squares of savings. Who even has time for that these days? I use apps like Ibotta and Groupon for deals on things I was going to buy anyway. I always check Groupon before I go out to eat, get a hair cut or go on a vacation. Before I check out at JoAnn Fabrics I always look on their site for coupons I can scan at the register. I always check the clearance racks everywhere I go; you never know when you'll find something you were planning on buying that day right there on the half price shelf. It's free money just sitting there to be used by anyone. Why not save money on things you were going to pay full price for in the first place when all you have to do is check an app on your phone to see if there's a coupon or walk an extra few feet to the clearance rack? This might even work when buying cars, but I wouldn't recommend buying one unless you really need it.

The Real Deal

There are lots of ways I handle my current situation, and while I can recommend coupons and such to all of you, some of the things I do might not work for everyone. For instance, I live with several roommates. It's a great way for me to save money on rent, especially since finding an affordable apartment that doesn't suck is pretty much a fairy tale these days. But I love living with roommates; I always have. Not everyone does. So while it's really a smart financial move, you have to weigh the pros and cons of it against how you prefer to live. It's not the right choice for everyone.


I also have a ton of jobs. In my line of work, part time jobs are standard, so in order to make ends meet I have to have several of them. I love every single one of my jobs though, so I don't mind the hours at all. This may not be ideal for everyone, especially people with families and hobbies and social lives, lol. It's what works for me, but I wouldn't recommend it to everyone. Full time jobs offer much more security and much more time to yourself after work is over. Me, I go from job 1 to job 2 and then to job 3 before coming home to work on my company stuff. I love this life where I get to teach and dance and make music every day, but I also know it's crazy.


Now I'm not really #thirdworldlivin at all, and I meant no offence by using that phrase to illustrate the dichotomy with #firstworldproblems. It's honestly more like I'm living the post-college life on an undergraduate budget. I am comfortable enough and that's just fine with me for now. I have two cars, but it's going to be okay. At the end of the lease terms, I will have two great cars that I have taken care of that I can use for years to come with no payments bogging me down. Because I was smart with my money, those lease terms will end a bit earlier than the term was set for. The light at the end of the tunnel is near. I just have to keep handling the struggle as best I can. That's all we can ever do. I hope that this section of my blog can give you guys some help along the way with yours.



17 views0 comments
bottom of page